skip navigation

Bulldogs Compete at Twilight Meet

By Brady Speicher, 09/12/21, 4:00PM CDT


The Otter Tail Central Bulldogs cross country team competed Friday evening at the Bluestem Center for the Arts in Moorhead along with 18 other schools. The event was put on by Minnesota State University Moorhead. The men's team finished in 7th place with the girls placing 8th.

The Bulldog men were led by senior Isaac Scherfenberg in 26th place with a time of 18:33, followed by 8th grader Peter Newark who ran 19:00, junior Joseph Froslee in 19:03, 8th grader Talyn Setterholm 19:51, the varsity roster was rounded out with Kyle Tierney, Noah Mansker and August Wicklund running 20:12, 20:28 and 21:29, respectively.

“Our guys took a huge step in the right direction today,” Bulldog head coach Brady Speicher said. “We had 8th graders Peter and Talyn show they aren’t afraid to take chances and run with confidence, which is not easy to do as an underclassmen. Our JH runners led by Gabe Lindstrom started us out on the right note and it carried over to our high school athletes as we had 21 of our 24 guys run a personal record today.”

Norah Froslee was the first Bulldog across for the women's race in 21:58. Ky Shebeck and Erika Heibel followed in 22:25 and 24:04. Laney and Raeanne Frost along with Ally Goodman completed the varsity roster.

“The girls went out a little fast today, so when it came time to make a move they couldn’t respond how they wanted to. Hopefully we can learn from this meet and make the proper adjustments for next week.” Speicher stated, “It’s a long season and the ones we really care about are the conference and section meets, I know we will be ready when that time comes.”

The Bulldogs will be back in action Thursday September 16th in Ada.

Complete Bulldog results:
JH Girls
Mae Hagemeister 17:20, Claire Kramer 21:34,

JH Boys
Gabe Lindstrom 12:46.3, Taydon Soma 13:15.6, Ryan Despard 13:27.8, Mason Hoyt 14:25.4, Jack Robinson 14:34.8, Matt Brandborg 15:30.5, Cade Strege 15:59.8, MaCade Barbe 16:33.0, Fred Scott 16:37.5, Oren Brackin 16:41.1, Logan Jenson 16:53.6 

Boys JV (4K)
Nathan Russ 18:36, Quin Condiff 20:05, Cayden Mansker 21:52,

Girls Varsity
Norah Froslee 21:58, Kyleigh Shebeck 22:25.8, Erika Heibel 24:04.5, Laney Frost 25:34.8, Raeanne Frost 25:36.6, Ally Goodman 25:40.0

Boys Varsity
Isaac Scherfenberg 18:33.5, Peter Newark 19:00.0, Joseph Froslee 19:03.4, Talyn Setterholm 19:51.9, Kyle Tierney 20:12.5, Noah Mansker 20:28.2, August Wicklund 21:29.5, Jonas Hegemeister 21:30.6, Aiden Heggem 22:28.6, Norman Hoff 23:28.6